Board Election Candidate Letter

We received one Candidate Letter for the Board Election on April 20th:

My name is Kathy Smith and I am running for a second term on the Legacy Academy School Board. I have served for the past three years in different positions. The first year I held the office of Treasurer and last two years I served as the Community Relations Officer. In this position, I was responsible for changing our annual dinner/auction fundraiser to a more community-friendly Carnival. Our first year we raised enough money to be able to put in our second entrance for the Middle School and we were able to showcase our amazing school to many new families.

I co-lead the team that brought Nerf Night fundraising to Legacy. It has been such an amazing success and has benefited our school tremendously.  To date, we have been able to fully fund the Character Ed program, purchase new sports uniforms for all our middle school teams, contributed to the purchase of the new sound system for the gym, and helped with safety and security enhancements.  All while providing the Elizabeth community a local fun activity!

Along with starting new fundraisers, I brought in the Watch Dogs Program to help get dads involved in our school.  I believe that it is extremely important for parents to be involved in their children’s education.

I currently have three kids at Legacy. My oldest, Grace, is graduating from 8th grade this year. Ellie is in 5th grade and my son, Grant, is in 3rd grade.  I have also started an allergy friendly food company, Gluten Be Gone Foods that has been featured at Charlie’s New York Deli and Whole Foods. 

Leave a Reply

